For Immediate Release       
The Arts Council
Contact:  Kevin Ledgewood
205-758-5195, x6


(Tuscaloosa)  The Arts Council is pleased to announce the winners (listed below) of the annual Double Exposure Juried Photography competition.  Open to photographers from throughout the state of Alabama, the competition is now in its ninth year. 

Artists were allowed to enter up to five works in both Adult and Junior categories, and any photographic media was accepted.  42 photographers entered the Adult Division with 41 pieces chosen out of 182.  38 artists entered the Junior Division with 42 pieces chosen out of 147.  The judge was Shawn Dickey, professor of photography at Mississippi University for Women, Columbus, MS.    

Awards in the Adult Division include a $500 Purchase Award for Best of Show plus four $250 cash awards.  The Purchase Award winner will be invited to exhibit at the Bama Theatre at a later date.  Junior Division awards include a Canon digital camera for Best of Show plus four $250 cash awards.  The prizes were generously provided by the sponsors, Harrison Galleries and American Shutterbug, both of Tuscaloosa. 

The exhibit will be on display through February 19 at the Bama Theatre’s Junior League Gallery (Adult Division) and in the Greensboro Room (Junior Division).  A closing reception and awards presentation will take place on Sunday, February 19 at 2:00 p.m. 

Located at 600 Greensboro Avenue in Tuscaloosa, the gallery is open Monday-Friday from 9 a.m. – noon and 1 p.m. – 4 p.m. and also during Bama Theatre events.  Enter the gallery through the PARA Building, located adjacent to the theatre, during daytime hours.

For more information about The Arts Council or Bama Theatre visit www.tuscarts.org or follow the group on Facebook at “The Arts Council – Bama Theatre – Cultural Arts Center,” and also on Twitter.  Call 205-758-5195 for further information.


Best of Show and Canon Digital Camera:  Brittany Britt (Montgomery) for “Jessie”
Four $250 Cash Awards:
Jessie Cocking (Montgomery) for “13”
Jillian Hamilton (Birmingham) for “As She Knows”
Spiro Gerontakis (Birmingham) for “Parallel Divide”
Alisha Patel (Birmingham) for “Lost in the Ashes 9/11”

Purchase Award $500:  Michael Moore (Tuscaloosa) for “Coal Miner”
Four $250 Cash Awards
Michael Adams (Tuscaloosa) for “Coney Island Boardwalk Dancers”
Yorgo Pasadeos (Northport) for “Night Ferry”
Margaret Gluhman (Auburn) for “Texaco”
Jim Morris (Tuscaloosa) for “Dune Survivors”